View All News

Finalists Announced for 10th Dorset Tourism Awards

The Finalists have been announced for the 10th year of the Dorset Tourism Awards which will be presented in The Tank Museum on 26th January 2023.

After four months of judging, 51 finalists have been announced for this year’s Dorset Tourism Awards.  All will be in suspense until the Awards Ceremony in The Tank Museum, when they will learn whether they have won Gold, Silver or Bronze awards. A further 5 receive Commended status.

The annual competition is now in its 10th year, with plenty of changes along the way as the awards have evolved in parallel to the industry itself.  This year’s awards have taken ever greater account of entrants’ commitment to the environment and community, as well as displaying an exemplary digital presence.  The awards organisers have evolved too, this year winning their own ‘Outstanding’ accreditation in the Awards TrustMark scheme.

Winners will be announced in The Tank Museum on 26 January, with successful businesses in many categories fast tracked into the South West Tourism Excellence Awards in March 2023 and possibly invited to represent Dorset in the national VisitEngland Awards, in which Dorset has previously had many top winners.

Deborah Heather, Director of headline sponsors Quality in Tourism, says: “Quality in Tourism is delighted once again to be headline sponsor of the Dorset awards. The participants are truly inspiring, innovative and some of the most professional and customer experience orientated operators we have met. We look forward to celebrating with all the finalists and wish everyone the best of luck."

 Awards organiser Robin Barker of Services for Tourism commented: “In what is a tough environment for everyone it is heart-warming to read of these fabulous businesses who have continued to innovate and excel.  My heartfelt congratulations to them all.”

The 19 award categories cover everything from dog friendly, experiences and cafes to glamping, hotels and attractions. A Winner of Winners title, a Future of Hospitality award and special Outstanding Contribution to Tourism award will also be presented on the night.

For a full list of finalists click here.